Transition Year National Conference

December 19, 2007

Coolmine Community School was among 12 schools nationwide invited to participate in the TY National Conference – ‘Celebrating Innovation and Developing The Experience’ which was held on Friday 20th April last.

Four students, Dervla Tighe, Aisling Reid, Sean Fahey and Neil Dullaghan travelled to the Osprey Hotel, Naas with the TY Co-ordinator, Mr. Sexton. The students had spent many hours preparing an impressive display which was viewed by delegates attending the conference. The conference was opened by Minister for Education and Science, Mary Hanafin who spent some time talking to students. She was particularly impressed with the Coolmine stand and mentioned the possibility of introducing an hour of Reiki (one of the subjects studied as part of our TY programme) in the Dáil each morning! Our students were described as articulate and confident – a testament to the positive experiences they have had so far during their Transition Year.